The red lion

Your own illumination is the greatest service you can render the world.

This quote from Ma’at invites us to savour life every time we breathe. In this way we inhale prana into the very essence of our being—to unite the psyche, spirit and soul. This includes feeling the dazzling heights and disturbing depths upon the path to ENLIGHTENMENT.

Through the grace of the divine, we are invited to gaze deeply into the unconditional love that exists at the centre of our beings that reflects the wonder in all things. Slowly, we come to recognise ourselves as flowering beings within the Egyptian Ennead.

As we evolve, the lower impulses of thought, emotion and instinct transmute into the higher elements of reason, faith and trust. This triangle was used to reflect the archetypal forces of creation, all of which were observed in nature and applied to human affairs. This invited alchemists to recognise our nine-fold nature based on the anatomy of the brain, heart and gut:

Rational Man

Romantic Man

Reflexive Man

Above: can you see three interlocking equilateral triangles?

Any potential for transformation occurs through awareness. When reading through each of the Nine, be honest, open and aware. Which do you still need to identify, accept and resolve? The awareness that all Nine exist within you, to be used at any time, means that you become a fully responsible co-creator, on Earth, now. At their height, this is how the Egyptians lived, creating an awakened civilisation from the basis of the 9/3 enneagram:

One day soon, you will use all of the Nine to regain consciousness. This is also how we are designed to operate: as a co-creative part of life here on Earth, understanding that we are each composed of the Nine. You come to “know thyself” by experiencing and becoming the Nine in physical form, with this journey leading into every facet of human and divine awareness so that you may activate your Merkaba.

Above: can you see nine irregular pentagons within?

Another word for this subtle energy is bioplasma. Bioplasma is a diffuse magnetic fluid which surrounds all living beings. Like a liquid, it can be made up of varying viscosities and densities. So this field not only surrounds humans, but also the planet. The energy of the Nine then, includes the electromagnetic field as a facsimile of the spiritual dimensions.

This realisation of deeper layers of unconditional love was the basis of Egyptian civilisation at its height. This alchemy of life harmonised the rational, emotional and physical bodies to allow the full immersion of life into physicality. Below, we notice how the enneagram joins the nose, the sacred organ responsible for the breath of life:

Buddha’s revelations occurred beneath a fig tree—the Bodhi. In religious iconography, this tree is recognisable by its heart-shaped leaves which are prominently displayed. So this “tree of awakening” played a key role in the peace of Buddha. This was the state of bliss that blossomed from within due to conscious breathing.

Figs have a rejuvenating effect on the body and combat the aging process because they are rich in flavonoids, polyphenols and anthocyanins. These are also known for their powerful antioxidant effects in neutralising free radicals. Regular consumption improves memory, relieves sleep disorders and works wonders for anemia. Figs are also a strong immune stimulant and have been a favourite of doctors since at least 10,000 BCE.

These aphrodisiacs are also rich in copper and vitamin B6. Copper is a vital mineral that’s involved in energy production as well as the formation of blood cells, connective tissues and neurotransmitters. Figs also improve blood pressure and blood fat levels, which can help boost vascular health and decrease the risk of heart disease. As a “superfood” they have the highest mineral and fibre content of ALL common fruits, nuts and vegetables.

Figs are also symbolic of rebirth but more specifically the human uterus. In ancient Egypt, Ficus sycomorus was associated with the goddess Hathor whose face resembled a womb. The fig was also portrayed as the Egyptian Tree of Life and its timbers richly adorned the tombs of the pharaohs. Later, the fig was reborn in the Middle East within the hamsa—a womb symbol that promoted fertility, lactation and pregnancy:

Figs are technically not fruit—they are actually inverted flowers. So fig trees don’t bloom like apple trees because they flower inside the pod, which later matures. The result is a hard fruit called achene―which gives the fig the “crunch” we love. Certain types of fig are different sexes and require a special wasp to pollinate the females. Here we return to our triangles and discover the final one—that of Spiritual Man. This is the Mer-Ka-Ba of the ancient Egyptians:

Spiritual Man

This 9 + 3 format implies a 12 pointed star, referred to as a dodecagram. (This is a 2D representation of a 3D shape: the dodecahedron.) In this case the dodecagram has 12 vertices and can be drawn as FOUR interlocking equilateral triangles:

So the 12/4 dodecagram is really like a rotating triangle. It indicates the complete energy system of the human body and the cosmos that we call TRUTH. Simply put, this brings forth our connection to the universe—the premise that all living beings are part of a loving whole. This can be drawn so:

The microcosm and macrocosm refer to a vision of the universe where the part reflects the whole and vice versa. It is a form of recursion which is a feature present in many esoteric models of philosophy, both ancient and modern. Born in Egypt, this heka was not lost on Pythagoras, who saw the cosmos and the body as a harmonious unity. This idea of “as above, so below” was revived about a century later by Plato and again during the Renaissance by Leonardo da Vinci.

In the Merkaba above, we can see how the dodecagram gives birth to hexagons and hexagrams. Resembling the Crown of Thorns, this is our connection to the fractal universe—it allows love to integrate into our physical lives. This white lotus, also known as Sahasrara, is aligned to seek an intimate relationship with the cosmos. It also implies something else—a harmonic square and circle:

This shape above can be expanded below with a larger circle and square. The secret here is their FRACTAL nature, meaning that they are self-similar courtesy of the dodecagram:

Next we can add another hexagram to the dodecagram. Now we have recursive hexagrams which implies parts that are similar to the whole. Everything dances to a universal pattern—the exquisite perfection of infinite scalability found only in divine love:

Here we are reminded of what lies within. In the case, it is the minimum combination that can produce the fractal nature of love. Below, the rotating virgin triangle informs the harmonic circle and square. In other words, the pattern (above) can be reduced to a master yantra (below) that implies the dodecagram from the triangle: love from truth.

This is the ROYAL CANON that Da Vinci attempted, except this version includes the triangle of spirit. While the wavelengths of the circle and the square are the same, less obvious is how the inverted triangle relates to them—the ratio is 101/129. The petals imply the lotus pattern of Ma’at blooming like a fig in the cross of the flesh:

From the geometry above we can draw a final shape below—the Reuleaux triangle. Here we are reminded that this “triangular circle” appears in the centre of the triquetra. This shape is sacred because it demonstrates the power of truth in a way that preserves π:

In our development these four alchemical steps imply the process of individuation. This invites the integration of the opposites from the undifferentiated unconscious. In the archetypal schema, rubedo represents the Self. Drawn as the colour of blood in alchemy, this vernal sun indicates a process that cannot be reversed since it involves the realisation of divinity.

This is the Red Lion.